Pinterest craft ~ glue painting

My DLF Christie decided we should do a Pinterest craft. You might have seen the pin floating around:

After doing some research (due to pins with no information, hello pet peeve) I tracked this artsy-craft to this blog Virginia & Charlie.  Some commenters mentioned that Elmer’s glue didn’t work, this tutorial linked above used puff paint.  We did use Elmer’s glue, not knowing any better.  In retrospect I did have some globby lines and a different glue would have been easier to control.  Christie and I sketched on canvas and then traced our designs over the sketches.  Don’t mind my blue canvas with white lines, this was a pre-used canvas.  You can definitely see the globs when I did these loops… the glue ran and filled in.

20120209-181400.jpg

Here is Christie’s less globby design:

My mostly completed glue design – before I painted white over it.

And the finished product:

Its not quite perfect due to the globs, I guess I could have wiped it off when it was still wet, but at the time I didn’t have that much foresight.  And where the glue had an air bubble it left a little hole that was impossible to cover with just paint.  Overall I feel moderately happy with my pea-chicken.  I think he would make a good embroidered throw pillow.  Maybe I should learn to embroider.  I did make a pillow in 6th grade at a homeschool convention, and I definitely enjoyed embroidery.  (yes, the one year of my entire life when I was not in public school).

2 thoughts on “Pinterest craft ~ glue painting

Leave a Reply

