Wet Paint

So it’s been 2 weeks since my first post, where I put my to do list out for the next 3 weeks to see how much I could get done. Just a few days until the work party at my house Thursday night and a few more days to get ready for the Halloween party Sunday night.

paint living room DONE!
make Halloween costume! DONE!
hide tv cords in wall Not Done. taking off list because Chris hasn’t worked out a good method yet, and its not really a priority.
– hang ikea shelves
clean and stain wooden furniture DONE!
– get kitchen island In Process
– paint kitchen stools
– clear back corner of yard (without falling in the well) In Process
– string lights on the patio In Process
– hang more stuff on the walls! In Process
– DIY fabric banner for party

The next few days will be strictly decorative – getting more stuff on the walls, hoping to get some spray paint on several things… basically I am adding things to this list for every thing I cross off. What’s wrong with me?

But for now, let’s cover a major task that’s done. Covering up the white splotches in my living room, some of which have been there since we moved in. Others are new where I finally took down brackets from former wall hanging, leaving big gaping screw holes. That sounds weird.

Before…

20111017-002430.jpg

During…

20111017-002503.jpg

The former color was a very pale green. I didn’t think the new color was terribly different… but you can see how much bluer it is. The color is Foam by Eddie Bauer, in satin finish Valspar low-VOC.

20111017-002528.jpg

And Finished.

20111017-002600.jpg

Its now a cool blue instead of a warm green. I feel like the cream trim is so much more obvious now.

20111017-002614.jpg

I’m having bouts of anxiety about it. Which is kinda ridiculous since every room in our house is some shade of light blue or blue/green. I just don’t know that I like it. It feels too blue.

20111017-002644.jpg

Maybe I’ll feel better when I make these 2 major changes I’ve been planning: 1) slip-covering the sofa in green 2) painting a gray patterned rug.

For the next week or so, this will have to do. Am I freaking out for no reason? Probably.

Daylight photo with no lights on:

20111017-121154.jpg

Daylight photo, opposite wall – here I’m fine with it.  In shadows the paint gets a lot bluer, but this wall gets a lot of light so its bright and less blue.  This is also where we painted a test spot and approved the color.  Lesson learned – paint test strips alll over the place because they will look very different in various places in the same room.

20111017-121227.jpg

2 thoughts on “Wet Paint

  1. I like it! You’re right that the cream colored trim is much more obvious now. I wonder if that’s what’s causing the anxiety? The cream colored trim has a lot of yellow in it. I’m not saying it looks bad, by any means, but I’m just wondering if it’s the trim that’s bothering you more than the blue? What if you painted the trim a cooler white?

Leave a Reply

