Op: Stuff on Walls part Tres

So here’s my blank empty wall – there were some black and white photos there for a while, but I didn’t super love them there.

20111020-235844.jpg

The round brown table normally sits in the corner by the couch (for remotes and stuff) but I moved it here in case people wanted to sit and have more of a place to put things and feel homey.

20111020-235955.jpg

Enter husband who knows how to use a drill.  I put some masking tape to mark on the walls where I think the shelves should go.  That white metal piece is held into the wall with screws, and then the metal ledge slides into the wooden (cough-particleboard) shelf.  Its important to find the studs in the wall, as these babies can hold up to 30 pounds per shelf according to the Ikea directions.

20111021-000316.jpg

Here’s shelf number uno – which I felt like was the perfect height.  But then any other placement of shelf number dos seemed either too high or too low.  Oh and I put a lot of different stuff on the shelf.  The green painting is one Chris did way back when.  Chris didn’t like the shelves lined up because he thought it would look like a big equals sign on the wall – see my little masking tape line below?  Too symmetrical.  He insisted that the shelves needed to be staggered to create better flow and not be so choppy.  Like this.  Eventually I gave in to my “its too high” fears.  Also don’t like how it highlights the vent in the wall, but what can you do.  Here’s what we agreed compromised on.

20111021-000749.jpg

Annnd done!  I had to put a lot of different things on these shelves to find an arrangement I was moderately happy with.  I also added a lamp to the little table to increase the “this is a nice place to sit” vibe.

20111021-000845.jpg

Look who found her polar bear painting in the garage.

20111021-000908.jpg

20111021-001037.jpg

20111021-001249.jpg

20111021-001308.jpg

I was a little worried about naughty kitties treating this like their own personal jungle gym and inadvertently knocking my stuff off and breaking it – particularly this lovely vintage depression glass candlestick.  So far they haven’t attempted it (knock on wood).

The shelves are Ikea-strikes-again.  You can find them here:  Ikea Lack Shelves.  They have lots of sizes now.  I think I Lack them.  Do I love them?  Do I want some more of them?

6 thoughts on “Op: Stuff on Walls part Tres

  1. Decided to mention keep up currently the good job!
    I’m really enjoying the theme/design of your respective weblog. Ever meet up with any browser compatibility problems? A number of my blog audience have were unsatisfied with my site not operating correctly in Explorer but looks great in Chrome. Have you got any tips that will help you fix this issue? I’m curious to understand what blog platform you’re dealing with? I’m having some minor security problems with
    my latest blog and I’d decide to find more secure. Are available any solutions? Hmm it seems just like your website ate my first comment (it was subsequently extremely long) therefore i guess I’ll just
    conclude a few things i submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your site site. I too am a future blog blogger but I’m still novices at everything.

    Do you have any suggestions for beginner blog owners?
    I’d genuinely love this site. Woah! I’m really enjoying the template/theme using this site.
    It’s simple, yet effective. Frequently it’s very difficult to have that “perfect balance” between usability and
    visual appeal.

  2. Thanks for another wonderful post. Where else could anyone get that kind of
    information in these a perfect method of writing?
    I’ve an exhibit subsequent week, and I’m at the try to find such information.

  3. After i initially commented I clicked the
    -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and in the future every time a comment is added I
    get 4 emails with exactly the same comment.
    Could there actually be any way you are able to remove me from
    that service? Thanks!

  4. Thanks for sharing superb informations. Your web-site
    is very cool. I’m stunned at the important points that you’ve in this particular web page. It reveals how nicely you understand this subject. Bookmarked this site, will be restored for extra articles. You, my friend, ROCK! I stumbled onto simply the information I already searched everywhere and simply couldn’t
    encountered. What a fantastic site.

Leave a Reply

