House Tour – the office

The tour continues.  Here’s a small but sunny room, a nice place to sit in the morning when the sun is streaming through the climbing roses outside the window.

Yep, the floor is red, painted plywood.  The walls were a bright marigold yellow when we first moved in.  We changed it to a pale gray right away.  In fact, the previous owner asked us at the closing table if we were going to paint that room.  Turns out the yellow was brighter than she wanted too.

Here we see a little cheapy rug from Ikea that I know you’ve seen before if you like internet house tours.  Its called Gislev and it can be yours for only $20.  I like it well enough, and for only $20 I was willing to take it home.

Ok, I gotta admit that there’s so much Ikea in this room, the Swedish chef could be our roomate.  He’s not.  We’re also not going to talk about the 2 Volvos we’ve got parked outside.   (No offense Sweden, I obviously love you and your exports).

Desk, boxes, lamp, chair, little square frames – all Ikea.

Original artwork by our friend Keith Cooper!  The chick with the bunny ears was in an Easter basket from my mom the other year and he’s stuck around.

I’ve had those frames for way too long and have put nothing in them.  I have some square postcards that almost fit, but not quite.  I need to make some original artwork for them since nothing else will physically fit in there.  Chris’s Star Wars Legos and other assorted tchotchkes on display.

The book case came with the house, it is essentially built into the wall with trim around the bottom.

We have a big blackout roller shade to pull over this window if anyone is crashing on the sofa/futon and needs some darkness.

Facing the window is our futon from – you guessed it – Ikea.  In my defense, that pillow and the curtains are from World Market.  Here again is my homemade postcard display thingy.

See how it perfectly fits into the little nook?  Like, just barely fits in.  I measured the space and knew it would be the perfect squeeze for that space.  The futon pulls out to be a nice little bed, so this doubles as our guest bedroom.

And there is my tiny green carpeted hallway that leads into my bathroom.  The problem with this being a guest room is that I have to walk through it to get to my bathroom and my walk-in closet (the door for the closet is across from the hall window).  Also the cats’ bathroom is in the laundry room back there.  So in a sense, the whole office is just a hallway for me.  Since starting the blog I’ve spent a bit more time in here though.  Tis a pleasant little room.  Bork bork!

2 thoughts on “House Tour – the office

Leave a Reply

